Written on Jun 3, 2020 9:30:00 AM
I Just Moved to Florida, What Type of Car Insurance Do I Need?
Topics: auto insurance, car insurance coverage, car insurance, Insurance policy
If you’ve just moved down to the Sunshine State, you may be excited to embrace the warm weather and beautiful beaches Florida is iconic for. However, you may be wondering:
Do I need car insurance in Florida and, if so, what type?
States all have different auto insurance requirements, so it’s important to be educated on your new home state’s laws. There are specific Florida auto insurance requirements and unique laws that all resident Floridians need to be knowledgeable about.
Required Insurance Coverage in Florida
Drivers are required to have certain auto insurance coverages required by Florida in order to legally operate a vehicle.
Florida law requires that residents operating a motor vehicle have bodily injury insurance covering $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
This insurance pays for damages for bodily injury or death from an accident that you are at fault for. In most cases, this provides you with a legal defense.
Drivers must be minimally insured for $10,000 worth of property damage. Property damage covers damage to someone else’s property as a result of an accident for which you are at fault. Property damage insurance provides you with a legal defense in most cases.
Florida requires drivers to have uninsured motorists coverage of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. If you are involved in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver, your uninsured motorist insurance will cover your injuries or property damage. In some circumstances, it may cover for motorists with insufficient to pay your entire claim
You must be insured for at least $10,000 for personal injury coverage in Florida. Personal injury coverage may pay for your medical treatment, lost wages, or other accident-related expenses regardless of who caused the accident.
Florida Car Insurance Laws
All drivers in the state of Florida must have auto insurance coverage listed above, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). Always carry your insurance ID card when you drive. If you are pulled over and do not have proof of your Florida insurance, you can be fined.
There are two important car insurance laws specific to Florida that you should be aware of:
The Florida No-Fault Law
The No-Fault Law in Florida requires all drivers to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) protection. This coverage helps pay for your medical bills in case of an accident, whether you are at fault or not. Many people assume drivers aren’t legally required to pay for damages they are at fault for because Florida is a No-Fault state, but that is not what it means. A No-Fault state just means that drivers involved in an accident must rely on their own auto insurance providers to pay for additional costs.
The Financial Responsibility Law
This law implies that certain drivers must carry full liability auto insurance coverage as a result of their driving history. Motorists who have been at fault for previous accidents resulting in injury to others, who have received excessive points against their license, and those who have received a DUI or had their license revoked due to serious and/or repeated offenses are liable for this responsibility.
Do I Have the Right Car Insurance?
Car insurance is made to protect you and your family against drivers and other elements that can cause you and your property from harm while on the road. If you are now living in Florida, you will need to make sure that your car insurance provider will cover the above-mentioned coverages that are required by Florida law. There are also some additional things to consider when deciding on what car insurance provider will give the right coverage
If you are a “high-risk” customer, your costs may be higher than others for your policy. This includes the elderly, teens, or if you live in a high-risk zip code area. High risk means that you are considered a “risk” to the company because of the likelihood of you making a claim. Make sure to shop around to see who will offer you the best rate.
Additionally, make sure that the car insurance provider you choose has good customer service. Find out if they have 24-hour claims service or if there is a toll-free number and ability to file a claim online. And what about 24/7 emergency roadside service? You need to be able to count on your car insurance company in your time of need, so it’s important to see how they will handle your claim in the event of a crisis.
While we can’t give you specific advice on your policy, we can speak from experience, and many who have been in accidents wished they would have shelled out a little extra money to protect themselves. If you have general questions about how a claim would work with your policy, make sure you contact a licensed insurance agent or a qualified personal injury attorney in your area. If you are submitted a claim that has been unreasonably denied or any other questions, contact Lowman Law Firm today.