Personal Injury Blog

Florida Teen Driver RegulationsFlorida takes vehicle safety seriously as evidenced by their restrictions on teenage drivers. Florida has a set of graduated driving laws to help teens develop their driving skills as well as promote vehicle safety.

Let’s say you have a 15-year-old who wants to drive in Brooksville, Florida. Under the graduated driving laws, they can. Before they receive a Learner’s License, they must pass a written course, hearing test, vision test, a Traffic and Substance abuse course and have a signed parental consent form on file. If they do have these, they would earn a Learner’s License and would be able to drive in daylight hours during their first three months. After this time, they are able to drive up until 10:00 P.M. as long as they have a licensed driver who’s at least 21 years old at all times. This ensures vehicle safety for both the teen and the other drivers on the road.

If you have a 16 year-old the laws change. They have the opportunity to earn their Intermediate License. In order to qualify for this license the teen must have had their Learner’s License for one year and have not had any traffic convictions. If they do earn their Intermediate License, driving times extend from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. If they were to drive before or after this timeframe, they must have a licensed driver in the passenger seat with them. Again, this ensures vehicle safety while extending freedoms to teens who have shown they are responsible.

Florida also takes into account vehicle safety as teen drivers become more experienced. As a result, their privileges continue to grow as they show they can responsibly drive within state laws. If you have a 17 year-old living in Spring Hill, Florida and they have their Intermediate License with no traffic convictions, their period for when they can drive alone increases. The timeframe would then be from 5 a.m. to 1 a.m. If they must drive outside of this timeframe, they must have a licensed driver with them.

At age 18, the state removes all restrictions from a teen’s license as long as they haven’t had traffic convictions. By this time, the teens show they are responsible obeying state driving laws, which ensure vehicle safety. As a result, the state rewards teens with unlimited access to the roads.

This system shows how the state slowly provides opportunity to teen drivers as they increase in age and experience. As long as the teen exercises vehicle safety and obedience to state driving laws, they will see their freedoms increase over time. When they reach the age of 18, they will have no restrictions.

5 Most Important Things To Do After A Car Accident

Leave A Comment